NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament

The NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament, also known and branded as NCAA March Madness, is a single-elimination tournament played each spring at the United States, now featuring 64 college basketball teams in the Division I level of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), to ascertain the national championship. The championship was created in 1939 from the National Association of Basketball Coaches, and was the idea of Ohio State coach Harold Olsen. [1] Played during March, it has become one of the most famous annual sporting events in the USA. [citation ]
The championship teams comprise champions from 32 Division I conferences (that get automatic bids), and 36 teams that are awarded at-large berths. These”at-large” teams have been picked by an NCAA selection committee, then declared in a nationally televised event on the Sunday preceding the”First Four” play-in matches, now held in Dayton, Ohio, and dubbed Selection Sunday. Even the 68 teams are broken up into four areas and organized to some single-elimination”bracket”, which pre-determines, when a team wins a match, which group it will face next. Each group is”seeded”, or rated, within its area from 1 to 16. During the course of three weekends, the championship happens after the First Four, in sites across the United States. Teams, seeded by rank, undergo a single-game removal bracket beginning with a”first four” comprising 8 low-seeded teams playing in 4 matches to get a position in the first round the Tuesday and Wednesday prior to the first round starts, a first round comprising 64 teams playing in 32 games over the span of a week, the”Sweet Sixteen” and”Elite Eight” rounds another week and weekend, respectively, and — for the last weekend of the tournament — that the”Final Four” round. The Final Four is played during the weekend of April. These four teams, one from every area (East, South, Midwest, and West), compete in a preselected location for the national championship.
The championship has been televised since 1969. [2] Currently, the matches are aired by CBS, TBS, TNT, and truTV beneath the trade-name NCAA March Madness. Since 2011, all games are available for seeing nationwide and globally. As television coverage has increased, so too has the championship’s popularity. At present, millions of Americans fill out a bracket,[3] trying to correctly predict the results of 63 games of the tournament (not including the First Four games).
With 11 national titles, UCLA has the record for the many NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Championships; John Wooden coached UCLA to 10 of its 11 names. The University of Kentucky (UK) is next, with eight national titles. The University of North Carolina is third, with six national titles, and Indiana University and Duke University are tied for fourth with five national titles. The University of Connecticut is with four titles. The University of Kansas (KU) & Villanova are tied for 7th with three national titles. Since 1985, when the tournament expanded to 64 teams, Duke has won five championships; North Carolina and UConn have each won four; Kentucky & Villanova have three; Kansas & Florida have two; and Arizona, Arkansas, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Louisville[a], Syracuse, UCLA, UNLV, and Virginia have one.

Read more here:

À voir aussi sur SDR :

    Aucun article trouvé

Vos commentaires


© 2010-2012
Image 01 Image 02 Image 03 Image 04 Image 05 Image 06 Image 07 Image 08 Image 09 Image 10 Image 11